FJ noob needs help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to the Land Cruiser family, having just received a 91 fj80 as my first car. I need some insight as I am looking to eventually add 1.5-3” of lift, front and rear bumpers and sliders and upgrade to 32s. What do I need to know before getting myself into this?

Last edited:
32” tires require no lift, nor do 33’s. There is a weeks worth of reading on this beaten to death subject archived here on Mud.

Welcome to Mud and your new bad habit. :D

I am new to the Land Cruiser family, having just received a 91 fj80 as my first car. I need some insight as I am looking to eventually add 1.5-3” of lift, front and rear bumpers and sliders and upgrade to 32s. What do I need to know before getting myself into this?
If you need to do a lift(you wil eventually) hit up @davidotero here on the forum hell walk you thru it. and welcome :steer:

You need to do a lot of reading on lifts, the front radius arm suspension, caster, and pinion angle. You have to make decisions according to your budget, skill, finances, and goals. These aren't easy rigs to lift due to the front suspension.

If your suspension is stock, then it's probably sagging and poorly damped. You'd probably be happy with new, stock-height suspension.

These rigs are super easy to lift. Caster correction is not that big a deal.

These rigs are super easy to lift. Caster correction is not that big a deal.

I'm going to disagree, based on the number of threads that regularly appear regarding caster correction methods, drive line vibration, and poor handling after installing lifts.

I'm going to disagree, based on the number of threads that regularly appear regarding caster correction methods, drive line vibration, and poor handling after installing lifts.