Advice on Purchasing 1999 Land Cruiser with 236,000 miles (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all! This is my first time posting on the forum, so much great info here. I'm sure you can tell I am completely new to the world of Land Cruisers. I have always dreamed of purchasing an ultra rugged SUV/Van and taking a cross country road trip living in the car. Seems like an opportunity to do just that has appeared. A 1999 LC with 236,000 miles has popped up for sale for $3,500 and I wondering what you all think.
Exterior:
The exterior of the vehicle is in okay shape, some scratches, small dents, and blemishes. Most importantly there is no rust. I would rate it a 6/10​
Interior:
There is a fair bit of wear, as the front seat is completely torn, the wood trim in the center console is very faded, the rest of the interior is dirty but it's nothing a good detail can't fix
The AC blows ice cold in all three rows, the radio works, the powered seats works.
However the moon roof does not slide back, though it does tilt.
I would rate the interior as a 6/10​
Mechanical:
The truck runs like an absolute dream, I can't believe how smooth that V8 is even with almost a quarter of a million miles. It pooped into gears with ease and shifted smoothly. The only mechanical issue that I could find is that the the rear locking diff does not seem to be working. When engaging it there is only a red flashing light.
The only other issue is that there are no maintenance records for the truck, I have no idea what kind of history it's had
Over all I would rate the mechanical as am 8/10
I think it's a great buy for $3,500 but I'm curious to hear what some of you guys think.

First.....don't poop into any gears, I can't imagine that's good for them ;)

You're going to want to check with Toyota via the VIN to see if they have anything