100 series purchase (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, first post here. Ive been lurking for awhile, looks like a great forum. I am now ready to buy my first cruiser. 100 series seems like it will fit the bill. I am a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu instructor and competitor, and will be using the cruiser to travel to tournaments and seminars, so highway comfort is a big deal to me. I also plan to use the cruiser for some overlanding with friends and my wife.

I found a 2006 TLC that I can afford. I like the idea of the extra power of the 2006 and the 5 speed transmission. I test drove a 2002 LX that had the ABS and VSC light on, and it accelerated like my aunts Prius. I am counting on the 5 speed transmission to help that. The vehicle in question has 180k miles, and is listed for $16k. The guy has to sell it by Friday in order to take ownership of a truck he ordered from carmax. He reportedly owes $12k on his current loan. I was prepared to make and offer, but after closer picture inspections the passenger side headlight has been replaced. He claims it was like that when he bought it, and that the carfax shows no accidents. Also, he says there is a humming noise over the radio. He says not loud but noticeable. He says the amplifier got wet while shampooing the carpet.

With the combination of the headlight and the "shampoo" incident, I am thinking the TLC has suffered mild water damage. What do you all think? Worth making an offer? Its 1.5 hours away from me so I want do my research before I make the drive.

hard to say... 12 years and 180k miles. A lot of s*** can happen. How long has this guy owned it? Eyeball him. you want a mid 60's doctor type wearing the rolex etc. rich guy= open wallet... vs the young guy that wants a bling bling car and can't afford it. run the VIN through the toyota owners website... see whats been done.