Tech Day (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I know I'm new, a complete noob, and didn't make it to dinner Wednesday (damn grad school) but would love to come just to observe/soak up info.

Last edited:
was looking at setting a specific angle, and tacking.

I just need some "progress" to show the wife, to get out for the day. :)

I'm contemplating attempting to remove the rusty c-channels in the back of the the frame of the FJ62. Grind off some rivets. Can't think of anything I would need other than a grinder and some hammering tools.

Good quality right angle drill & air chisel to cut off the rivet heads and punch them out (and really good hearing protection).
I did this job a couple of years ago while I had the gas tank removed. I used a combination of grinding, drilling, the air chisel and a lot of cussing. I think I used the air chisel more than anything else.

You will also need hardware to replace the rivets for the spring hangers and the body bracket mounts.

I wish I could tell you that it was straightforward but that job was huge PIA:bang:

Good quality right angle drill & air chisel to cut off the rivet heads and punch them out (and really good hearing protection).
I did this job a couple of years ago while I had the gas tank removed. I used a combination of grinding, drilling, the air chisel and a lot of cussing. I think I used the air chisel more than anything else.

You will also need hardware to replace the rivets for the spring hangers and the body bracket mounts.

I wish I could tell you that it was straightforward but that job was huge PIA:bang:

Well, screw that for a tech day. Vince was just emailing me something along the same lines. Too big of a job.

Brake job on the Lexus?
Front end rebuild on the tow rig?
I don't think I'm going to make it to this one. I have to get the above done The inspections are a month past do.

Brake job on the Lexus?