Need some eyes for FJ40 Purchase (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I'm a relative rookie at 40 restorations, but that frame pic shows a LOT of pitting for a 50K mile frame. If it was media-blasted and treated with POR-15, there was likely some serious rust on that thing at one point. Low miles or not, the condition of that "restored" frame and the fresh paint job hints at a lot of rust hiding somewhere, or a lot of body work done to take care of it. Take a magnet and really examine the known trouble spots for body filler and poor-quality patch jobs.

Or, it could just be the way the light reflects in the photo. Tough to know unless you dig a little deeper.
The pitted frame is a different rig, different sale entirely, $13k for an 'in-progress' project truck.

I am also looking at a '77 for my next project. Agree with above posts:undercarriage!!!! Highly doubt 50k miles, guessing 150k unless he has loads of old documentation. And if that is the case price should be above $30K

Mann I hate bondo!
Seat belts for rear jump seats missing?

Looks shiny and purdy... look for spot welds on rear quarters as those often get filled by bondo. :(

You're right, on the blue FJ40 I see a few spots where the metal paneling looks to be out of sorts, particularly the floor on pictures 3 and 4.
Thank you for your input!

Or, it could just be the way the light reflects in the photo. Tough to know unless you dig a little deeper.[/QUOTE]