Brakes advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm not a mechanic - I don't know alot about cars. I do have a 1990 HDJ80 I bought in Spain, used in Africa for five years and now i'm living in Haiti. The problem has always been the brakes and now that we live in the mountains we really need to resolve the problem.

Our current brakes are nothing special. Coming down the mountain they will really heat up even if I'm driving really careful. We've had our car in the shop 10 times adjusting the brakes...brake pumps relplaced, pads replaced, calipers replaced...bah!

What can I do to improve them? Ceramic brakes? Something like Lexus brake systems?

If we can't resolve this...we have to sell it and buy a newer, smaller car.

Thanks

I'm not a mechanic - I don't know alot about cars. I do have a 1990 HDJ80 I bought in Spain, used in Africa for five years and now i'm living in Haiti. The problem has always been the brakes and now that we live in the mountains we really need to resolve the problem.

Our current brakes are nothing special. Coming down the mountain they will really heat up even if I'm driving really careful. We've had our car in the shop 10 times adjusting the brakes...brake pumps relplaced, pads replaced, calipers replaced...bah!

What can I do to improve them? Ceramic brakes? Something like Lexus brake systems?

If we can't resolve this...we have to sell it and buy a newer, smaller car.

Thanks
If you are asking what to do about brake fade then youre fighting physics. It takes the creation of thermal energy to slow the car down. Ostensibly some pads and rotors deal with high heat better than others.

Specifically whats the problem with the brakes? Is is mainly fade as they heat up? For mountain driving remember to gear down on the down hills.

Does the 1990 HDJ80 have disks in the rear?

Pull over when they start to fade and have a sammich.