Electronic Diesel Swaps - questions (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone,
After reading the threads on various 4 cylinder swaps for LCs I've given up trying to find a all mechanical solution for the J105, and am looking at either the Mitsubishi 4M50 or 4D34T. Both of these are electronically controlled and even though I have worked with electrical and electronic control systems in industry, I have no experience with how these systems work. So, if you have answers to the following questions I would appreciate any info you can provide.

First a big thanks to:
ASTR for posting up his work on the 4HE1: Isuzu 4HE1TC into FJ62
Zwcruiser for posting up his work on getting a 4M50 into his FZJ80: Soon to be attempted 4M50->FZJ80 swap
Fromage for posting up his work on the 4D34 swap: Mitsubishi 4D34-3AT3B diesel swap into 94 FZJ80
Superhatch for his work on his similar swap: Mitsubishi 4D34-2AT3B diesel swap into 96 FZJ80
and
Joff for posting up his experience with putting a 1HD-FTE into a FZJ105: 1HD-FTE into a 105 + build up for expedition

If you have got to this thread because you are considering a diesel swap it is worth your time reading through each of these threads.

Now for the questions (sorry some of these are total noob questions):
  1. Is an oscilloscope (CRO or DSO) the way to test the electronic signals from the various sensors, or are there other ways to do this?
  2. Is there any consistency in ECU interfaces to allow sensors and components to be turned off - and if anyone has experience with the ECUs for the 3D34T and 4M50 can the EGR be turned off in the later models?
  3. Is it necessary to get a MUT diagnostic tool, or is there other options to connect the data port in the vehicle with a computer?