LX470 HID RETROFIT PROJECTOR BRACKET (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

If you want the D2S 4.0 you'll have to trim the shroud but you could easily install the Mini H1 7.0 and have output that's better than the shot above. I think the majority of guys who are interested in doing this retrofit will probably go with the Mini H1 7.0 It's a very simple and install, pretty much plug-and-play you'll be more than satisfied as I have been with my 80 with the light output

Good to know. Thanks for the info. I'll be placing my order asap.

Looks very cool, watching this unfold.

I can offer some insight to tooling costs. I'm a manufacturing engineer with experience in low and high volume plastics and some metals. You may already know this stuff, but figured it might be helpful.

The 3D printed materials are an option, but you'll need an industrial printer to make anything as strong or heat resistant as I'm thinking you need... The MarkForged printers offer high temp options, but entry price for those is $10k and up to get into the high temp resins. Price per print would probably be really low though. Stuff I've had quoted on their printers is probably around $10 for something the size of your piece - and that still has a markup from the printer service. Doing it yourself would probably be a couple bucks.

Stamping could be great, but you'll still have finishing steps which I assume would add cost making each part more expensive than it needs to be. Throw in the initial tooling cost and extremely limited application AND cost of tooling rework should you decide you need a revision in a bend or something and I'd be cautious of stamping.