TOTALLY NEW TO COMMS AND NAV, NEED PURCHASE ADVISE (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Need some advise on what to buy? So I plan to get into overlanding in the Southeast U.S. I'll be traveling to places I have never been with my younger(all under 9) children.. Safety and being able to communicate in an emergency are top priority. I have been offroading 30 years but I have NO experience with comms or nav, other than my cell phone and Garmin... :) any advice is greatly appreciated on what to purchase!!

thanks, Bill

NW Florida

Satellite phones work pretty much everywhere. They cost alot; the plans cost alot.
I would consider this: Garmin Delorme Inreach
Global reach, texting, GPS tracking and pay-by-the-month plans.
Can also find the older model for a bit cheaper.

thanks guys! I think the sat phone and Inreach would be good options! In addition to those items, I dont have a radio.. anything i can install there for nav or comm?

In addition to those items, I dont have a radio.. anything i can install there for nav or comm?

Do you wheel or travel with other vehicles in a group? If so, get what they're using.

If you're solo, a ham radio will give you better range than a cb and access to repeaters, but you need a license to operate one. The license is easy to get though. Lots of bands and options there; some you can talk around the world on - but most folks start out on the 2 Meters band, and lots of clubs and runs are moving to 2 Meters from cb for their trail comm.

Btw, what are repeaters?