Costa Rica BJ40 Pura Vida!! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all!
I am fairly new to this community and to Land Cruisers in general.
Couple of months ago the LC bug bit me and decided to go all in and get one, diesel is what I wanted, not just because it is relatively cheaper to run but also find it to be fascinating how bulletproof those little engines are.

Little background grew up in Mexico and migrated about 4 years ago to New Zealand so speak fluent spanish and english, I come back to Mexico for holidays every year.

Now... after doing a fair bit of research found a BJ40 in Costa Rica that seemed promising, so I purchased a ticket and hoped for the best...
Fast forward managed to locate a great mechanic that has been fixing those cars for 40 years and I have some basic mechanical knowledge, so got the guy to bring the car over to have a close look at it...
I was gutted when I realized how bad it was... The crossmember where the stabilizer for the sterring goes was as corroded as it could be, where the springs meet the chassis was broken, the engine was rebuilt poorly and with newer b engine parts and the body was being held together by bondo.. needless to say I thanked the man for his time and told him it was not was I was looking for.

Long story short spent 9 days in Costa Rica walking and hopping on buses from sun rise to sun set looking for the right cruiser for me...and believe me I must have asked at least 20 of their owners it they would sell them to me. Found out that these cars have now become part of the family and if you find one for sale you either have to be VERY lucky or its a car that is on its way out.. 2 days before the end of my trip and a bit sad not being able to find myself a car I came across a great car.. too good to be true.. one owner, OG paint and pretty low K's...
and here it is