Stock 1hdtft upgrade to Gturbo Badboy or Grunter ? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all I'm new to this so please excuse me if this the wrong forum,

I've got a stock 1hdft 80 series manual with 380,000km on it in great condition over serviced if anything.
It's our family car shopping trolley and touring set up, I've had it for 15 years brought my children home from hospital ect. Ect. So to say it's a part of the family is an understatement.

It's getting long in the tooth and other diesel cruisers are getting more refined but I Just can't part with it, so it's time to start "upgrading a stock 1hdft" I'm apprehensive, so to try and do things right I've just ordered a HPD front mount intercooler, catch can and a moonlight industries air box, (already has a3" exh) with the intent of upgrading to a Gturbo now to just decide which one a Badboy or Grunter ?

We go on remote holidays towing an off road trailer so reliability is at the top of my list.
Concerns are excessive blowby & decreased engine life, I've read a heap of threads here and all have had different experiences but all seem to be recent with no long term kms under the tyres, so any real world experiences would be great to hear. Sorry for the babble just wanted to try and paint a picture.

I'm not sure how translate the model I have .. but it's of the first ones .. and it's sill doing it indeed purpose years later with my 315 / H150 / 1HD-T

image.jpeg
image.jpeg