Builds 1FZ-FE TRD S/C Rebuild (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I wanted to start an independent thread of my build page to think about my 1FZ-FE S/C build. Just to preface, this is the slowest rebuild in the world. So, I may ought to call this my turtle build.

If you've followed my thread then you know I have had to source a good used head, rods, and an oil pan.

I am planning on having the block and the head surfaced to ensure the most perfectly flat sealing surface for the head gasket. The machine shop says that they surface the block prior to boring the block which I am waiting on to get a piston size, but they don't anticipate much surfacing as they feel the parts look very flat.

Since I'm at the point of piston choices I am also contemplating compression ratio with the supercharger. I am new to forced induction so bear with me. I'm not planning anything crazy here. If anything, just wanting to try to keep Toyota reliability built in. I will probably stay with the stock pulley or the next size down. Also, may run a different fuel pump such as one from a twin turbo Supra but if I can want to keep the system fairly stock.

Machine shop sells ITM pistons which I used in a 2F with good results and they came with Japanese made rings. That being said, I would have to inspect them very well before I would go that route.

Checking on Toyota O/S Pistons the other day, I might as well buy some Arias, CP, or JE forged Pistons. Another question on parts is, would SS valves be a good idea?

Big thing I've been thinking of studying boosted charts is that I may want to consider going to 8.5:1 compression. If I understand these charts correctly, 6lbs of boost which I also understand is stock here would yield an effective 12.0:1 which is where they recommend maxing out at with pump gas.

Any thoughts or recommendations from those with experience? Thanks!