Engine pull and rebuild, final thoughts… (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I guess I'm a dick in saying I tossed all my bolts in a box and can remember where they all go.

On a sidenote. I have a blast booth and have been cleaning all my parts before it gets assembled.
Well I would not say you are a certain male appendage or not, ok, maybe I would. :flipoff2: I just know that I have never had a great memory and have been losing some of it every year since I turned 40.

If I did more of this as a hobby or a job, perhaps I could do it, but even with what I do for a living, I have to take copious notes or it is gone. I have a buddy that can remember what he had for breakfast two years ago and with whom. The SOB...

No, significant oil consumption, about a quart every 750 miles or less. That plus oil leaks including the rear oil pan arch seal.

Pistons looked good as did the crank and cams. The engine was very clean internally. The head gasket did not let go but with the pitted block I think it was only a matter of time so I am glad to have it done.

I am glad I pulled the trans and transfer case. There was so much crud on it I was surprised.

Mine is not THAT bad but burning oil. If the block surface looked good would you have been happy to just do the cylinder head? That is what i am hoping for.

Mine is not THAT bad but burning oil. If the block surface looked good would you have been happy to just do the cylinder head? That is what i am hoping for.
No hesitation if the deck did not have to be milled, I would have done the heads and been happy and that is what I originally planned. That said you have to be ready for the curve when it is thrown at you and I did not want to swing and miss...

Oh by the way, go Cubbies! :D