Brake Booster (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.outerlimitsupply.com
I'm back working on my '64 again after a few months away and I'd like to finish the brakes up. I've upgraded the axels and brakes to 1976 and I have a brake booster adapter so that I do not have to cut the firewall support. Unfortunately, the 1976 brake booster that I have is very long and will hit my carb/air filter assembly. Rather then change to an after market carb kit, does anybody know of a shorter/different year landcruiser brake booster that I could use?

Thanks,
Travis

Pictures

Some pictures
DSCF7812.JPG
DSCF7813.JPG
DSCF7814.JPG

I have a question about master cylinders. Maybe someone here know a answer. I am changing a rear axle out of 79 for one out of a 82. The later one only has one wheel cylinder per side compared to two in the 8/75 to 7/80. Will the single wheel cylinder axle work with the 8/75 to 7/80 master. I also noticed the master cylinder in the picture only has a single reservoir. The master cylinder for the large booster has a dual reservoir.

Last edited:
Yes, the geo metro setup works like a champ and fits in there snug as a bug.

It is also very easy to setup and gap the thrust rod on the back side. It has the same 4 hole bolt pattern, so your adapter will still be slick.

EDIT: I would also like to point out that you DO NOT need the proportioning valve.

Last edited:
Is the proportioning valve only used when running discs all the way around as opposed to front discs and rear drums?

I believe the proportioning valve is used with mixed drum and disc brake axles. I know my 8/75 thru 7/80 setups have them. Once you get away from a stock setup I'm not sure. Toyota never had four wheel disc in a 40 series