Do 80s Burn Oil in General? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All,

Been looking for an 80 for several months...came across a possible candidate. Looks good in general. It is one of the colors I want - Red - and has lockers. It has about 160K on it. The owner says it burns about 1/2 to a quart of oil between changes. Is this usual?

Also per one of the pics he sent...looks like there is some black shiny stuff on the front axle...perhaps he is leaking it instead of burning it?

Cheers

Resubmitting with pic...as the subtitle indicates...I am a rookie.
4413857999_5efa50aa80.jpg

Try to get the vehicle service history (not just Car Fax), as there could be many factors that determine "oil loss." Does it lose oil over time or over miles? There is a difference, in that either the engine is burning oil or the engine is leaking oil.

It is a little unclear by the image if the engine is leaking any oil; due to the location of what appears to be an oil leak on the left side of the axle, it could be a leaking power steering pump, like mine.

Bottom line: it is normal for an 80-series engine (whether a 3F-E or a 1FZ-FE) to burn about a quart of oil within 3,000 miles, but the same can be said of almost any other engine in the world.

yeah, i mean my 80 is almost 200k miles and it just eats oil. part of that is cause i havnt gotten around to fixing a cracked hose but from most of the people i kno, 80's r gas and oil eaters, but they are real machines

It is normal for these to burn oil, in the 2 I have owned, I think they both burned (no drips/leaks) about 1qt per 1-2k miles, I haven't kept close track, just check the oil every few fuel stops and add a little oil if needed. Pic looks like you may also have an oil leaking onto the axle housing, hard to tell exactly what it is.

Mine used over a quart between oil changes, when i did the head gasket i changed the valve seals.