My TBI adventure...so far (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am posting up progress of my TBI conversion for my carb'd Chevy 350 in my '68 FJ40. I know there is a lot of information on this forum relating to this subject already and I have found it very useful. However, I am a total newb with this stuff and thought others (who might be newbs too) might find something useful from my project. Also, I hope some TBI Veterans will chime in and offer advice.

Here's a pic of the engine now. It's dirty, the PO let it sit for a long time. Fortunately, the mileage is low, only about 4k. The carb is a Carter AFB - it has never run well and I hate messing with it. After much reading, TBI seemed like the easiest, most economical way to get reliable EFI.
DSC00677.jpg

Last edited:
During my research on TBI swapping I found this article and after reading it I decided that DIY EFI was something I could tackle:

How to install GM TBI on any Chevy V8

I started searching for a donor and almost immediately found an '88 Suburban on Craigs List that was being parted out. The engine was still complete so I grabbed it, the harness and ECM (computer) for $100.00. I was pretty stoked with the ease of the find.
DSC00699.jpg
DSC00700.jpg

I blasted the worst of the crud off at the car wash and started pulling stuff off. At this point I'm wasn't even sure which sensors do what, but if it was questionable I pulled it to be sure. What I am sure I need is: MAP (manifold absolute pressure) sensor, temp sensor, knock sensor. Also pulled electric spark control module and distributor.

Pic of the intake as I stripped it down.
DSC00703.jpg