1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whats wrong?

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by red66toy, Sep 10, 2003.

  1. red66toy

    red66toy GOLD Star

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can some one tell me why my speedometer says I am going 60mph when I am actually going 48mph. I own a 66 Fj40 stock drivetrain with 32" tires. I replaced the speedometer cable. Thought it might help but it is still the same. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  2. hammerhead

    hammerhead

    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Location:
    Central, Utah
    Your tires are larger than stock.
     
  3. red66toy

    red66toy GOLD Star

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    shouldn't I be going faster then. I used one of those rpm tables and it said at 2500rpms with 32" tires I should be going 60mph. Am i missing something.
     
  4. hammerhead

    hammerhead

    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Location:
    Central, Utah
    No, I am. Sorry. I had the #s reversed. Hey, I've got it. All you need is a set of 38.5s and it should be pretty close.
     
  5. woody

    woody Internet Fireman Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,336
    Media:
    303
    Likes Received:
    1,098
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    Toquerville UT
    check the drive gear on the t-case...it's plastic, and does wear out. Check the connection at the speedo as well, ensure it spins smoothly.
     
  6. red66toy

    red66toy GOLD Star

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I will check out the drive gear. What about my speed though. Why am I going 48mph at 2500 rpms when the rpm table said i should be going 60mph?
     
  7. bad_religion_au

    bad_religion_au

    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    isn't 32 stock size? i know the stock tyres on my 45 (the spare is from the factory) were those tyres with funny numbers, but they worked out about 32 inches. no idea what my 40 was though
     
  8. Man Jerk

    Man Jerk

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    are you sure you were using the correct diff ratio when you were filling out the table? In my 60 with 4.11's and 33's I'm probably doing 55 at 2500 rpm or so. with 32's I would Imagine it's not to far from 48.

    out of curiousity What are you basing what your true speed of 48 mph on.
     
  9. red66toy

    red66toy GOLD Star

    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I now it's 48mph because i have seen the radar displays and my girlfriend driving in back of me said I was going less than 50mph. I did put in the right diff. ration of 4.11.
     
  10. CruisinGA

    CruisinGA

    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia Tech
    [quote author=bad_religion_au link=board=1;threadid=5167;start=msg40081#msg40081 date=1063246463]
    isn't 32 stock size? i know the stock tyres on my 45 (the spare is from the factory) were those tyres with funny numbers, but they worked out about 32 inches. no idea what my 40 was though
    [/quote]
    Stock size on US 40 is a puny 29 inches.
     
  11. bad_religion_au

    bad_religion_au

    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    ok then. i got no idea what we got
     
  12. pfry

    pfry

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    I didn't get my speed figured right until I calculated the actual speed by using the measured circumference of the tire by measuring how far it went in one revolution.
    Just because a tire says it's a 31 or a 33 doesn't mean that exactly. It can mess up your calculation.
    My speedo is within 2 mph from 10mph up to 90mph with my half worn out 31x10.50 tires.
    pfry
     
  13. s79bj40

    s79bj40

    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    all aussie cruisers and luxes got 7.50r16 as standard and wider metric (but same rolling diameter approximately) tyres for the newer high-spec models. The 7.50r16 came on the 5.5" rims and had a diameter a smidgen smaller than a 32". Prob similar to a 32x7.50r16. So 31x10.5r15 are smaller than stock ~!

    At least you wont get a speeding ticket :)
     
  14. jm

    jm

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Go looking for one of the roadside radar/sign units and drive by several times at varying speeds... record observed speed and speedo reading... see if you are always off by a set amount or a set percentage. If you have access to a gps you could also use that to verify speed. Are you sure your gf's speedo is right? My stock y2k dodge is off by 2-3mph at almost all speeds and this is not unusual for a new car... most are set to read a little fast.

    Are you the original owner? If not, are you sure they are 4.11s? Did the PO have different tires (36-38s perhaps?) on in the past where s/he might have changed the drive-gear to correct their speedo error? or added an adapter on one end or the other for the same effect?

    Do you have access to another gauge pod? If yes, swap them out and see if the problem persists. If it does, with numbers very close to the first set, then it is not likely to be the speedo itself. If the speeds are reflected more accurately w/ a different speedo, then it seems like an actual speedo problem... they can just go bad or could need a good internal cleaning and lubricating. If you don't have an extra one, maybe you can borrow one locally since they pretty easy to remove... might not be worth a shipping charge to borrow one.

    jm
     
  15. miker

    miker SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    World's Smallest Mountain Range
    I know this is a common problem on fj60/62s when the speedo head is at fault. It is, as I understand, likey a problem where dirt or contamination is interferring or partially coupling the rotating magnets causing a mechanical "boost" to the follower magnet attached to the needle. From a web site:

    http://www.answers.com/topic/speedometer

    "Traditional automotive speedometers are driven by a flexible, sleeved cable that is rotated by a set of small gears in the tail shaft of a transmission. The speedometer itself is two rotating, barrel-shaped magnets. One magnet is connected the sleeved cable, and the other is connected to the speedometer needle. These magnets are calibrated such that a given revolution speed of the flexible cable corresponds to a specific speed indication on the speedometer."

    If you are brave enough, disassemble the speedo head and clean. It may be that some bug has made a nest in there.
     
  16. numtel

    numtel

    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Location:
    Chico, CA
    You do realize this thread is three years old right?
     
  17. Degnol

    Degnol

    Messages:
    8,123
    Media:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Kansastitty
    And I think Chase sold the '40:D :D :D :D


    Ed
     
  18. miker

    miker SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    World's Smallest Mountain Range
    :doh: I'm stupid.