1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ultimate exhaust...

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by tiorio, Jun 7, 2003.

1. tiorio

tiorio

As most of you now know, I'm replacing a fair bit of my exhaust system (from the headers back). Ifin you was doing the same to your cruiser, what would be your 'ultimate exhaust'?

Here are the specs:

70% on road / 30% off
    Must meet CA emission laws
    More power!
    Can't be too much louder than stock but should have a better sound...

So boys (and girls if applicable), what to do? :dunno:

Cheers!

2. tiorio

tiorio

BTW: Thanks for all the help diagnosing probs and ideas with the earlier exhaust thread, you guys rock!

3. bjowett

bjowett Supporting Vendor

Whew, where to start.... I'm no engineer, and exhaust theory and design can get busy in a hurry, so I'll keep it short. Copy the design of the stock system with a few exceptions - The downpipes off of the manifolds are definetly an area where some gain could be had. Stainless mandrel sections of a slightly larger tube diameter down to some real hi-po converters, large internal honeycomb, 2 of em'. Two slightly larger tubes out of the converters back to a dual in Borla hemi/truck (don't know what they call them these days)or similar stainless straight through muffler, single 2.5 or maybe a 2.75" outlet back to a small stock style Borla/similar resonator and end it with the same tip outlet diameter.

4. tiorio

tiorio

So what are the CA laws regarding replacing the cats? Can I use aftermarket or no with factory still available?

Is the Y pipe a significant restriction or is the bigger problem with the muffler itself (assuming the factory cats have to be retained)?

Can I get Borla cans without buying the whole exhaust?

Seems the rigs exhaust system could net quite a few HP looking at the stock system, no?

5. BigMac

BigMac SILVER Star

Tiorio-