Torxuvin's 1989 FJ62 Daily/Project/Toy (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys,
I wanted to post up a thread to tell the story and track maintenance, mods and adventures of my FJ62.

Story

Part 1: Finding the Truck

I am a mechanical engineer. I love tinkering and have always wanted a garage and a project to get fully into. I have always been into go fast/street only vehicles owning m3s and corvettes among other vehicles. I have owned my Lexus ISF now for a few years. It became my only car after moving into Midtown Atlanta as I only had one spot for the condo. The ISF has been a fantastic car for the 27k miles I've put on it from track days to road trips to getting groceries. After adopting a GSD/Husky puppy at the beginning of the year, I finally decided it was time to put on my big boy pants and buy a house. Fast forward a few months later to the move itself and my brother lent me his old 90s Tahoe. I loved it. Never been a truck guy but having something big to carry stuff, take the dog around, doesn't matter if it gets dinged or dirty was AMAZING. The idea of having something to take to garage sales or transport furniture (I picked up a new hobby of woodworking that I'm trying to get into) rather than renting a pick-up from home depot sounded so appealing. The real questions were "How much do I spend?" and "What do I get?" I figured buying a house for the first time that conservative was better for budget. I needed to find something that I could potentially drive a year and worst case I could more or less break even if I had to resell it. My brother, being the former GM mechanic that he is, suggested tahoe/suburban/silverado. I decided that while a truck made more sense, SUVs were more appealing for trips or as a dog carrier. And then, if I was going to get a truck or SUV, I might as well try my hand at some light off-roading. So thus I narrowed my search down to