Tires Sizes?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm new to the FJ Cruiser part of IH8MUD..but know the FJ40 forum well. Although i still prefer my FJ45; with the temperature hitting 50C not having air conditioning is not an option; hence had to purchase a "newer" model.

I've seen a few threads on tires; but needed a solid yes / no.

Will a Hankook Dynapro AT-M 285/70R17 rub on a stock 2012 FJ Cruiser?

You will probably rub on the infamous body mount which is behind the front mudflaps.
I have an Old Man Emu 2.5" list all around, and my 285s rubbed when turning on the left mount.
Had it rectified a few weeks back with a local shop that did the chop for me.

You will probably rub on the infamous body mount which is behind the front mudflaps.
I have an Old Man Emu 2.5" list all around, and my 285s rubbed when turning on the left mount.
Had it rectified a few weeks back with a local shop that did the chop for me.

Thanks Corey...I don't want to go through all that hassle so a smaller tire is best.

Thanks Corey...I don't want to go through all that hassle so a smaller tire is best.
Are you going with the stock size of a 235x70x17?
Here is an old post of my rig from from 2006 from my build thread of my first set of mud tires I got shortly after getting my rig in 2006.
They looked good with the stock rims and stock lift, and there was no tire rubbing at all.
If I had no lift today with a stock rig I would get the same tires I just bought a few weeks ago, the Toyo Open Country M/Ts in a 235.
But since I have the lift, I went with the 285s and got the body mount chop done a few weeks back, and have zero issues with rubbing now.
But the quote below will give you can idea of what a stock size mud will look like.
And I highly recommend these Toyo tires I have now, they are dead quiet, more aggressive than the Dick Cepeks I had on there, and ride much smoother too.