The welders thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

UnderDawg

Wannabe welder
Threads
Thought it was time to start one since we have some fabrication finally going on here.

Post up your machine make, model, preferred wire
Pictures of said machine(s)
Picture of a nice bead
What your experience level is
Pictures of current or past projects

And of course tech on general set up and operations

This should be informative and help out the noobs... such as myself. I'm still learning and will continue to do so for a long time to come.

Let the games begin.

I'm too lazy to go take pics. Miller 175 is my mig. I am a big fan of miller products. Harbor freight wire, lol. Mig is as far as I have experience with. Tig would be cool to learn but a major investment.
Not as much as you may think check this out
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H2VETB6/?tag=ihco-20
Everlast Makes some decent machines for beginners. I've been toying with the idea of getting one. Its got a high frequency start too.

Millermatic 140. My preferred wire is anything I can find laying around that resembles wire.

No pictures of my setup but it's nothing special.

And some nice beads of mine. It looks ok now after a ton of grinding.

8PlxoEC.jpg

Millermatic 140. My preferred wire is anything I can find laying around that resembles wire.

No pictures of my setup but it's nothing special.

And some nice beads of mine. It looks ok now after a ton of grinding.

8PlxoEC.jpg

Thats about what I figured

Up until recently I had a MM 185 wire feed machine. I bought it new when I worked at Avalanche Eng. in Durango back in mid 1996. It was lost when we moved to our new house a month ago. Needless to say I want to get a replacement but now I think I want to try a TIG welder. Insurance is paying :)

Lincoln 180 dual running on 220 with .035 75/25 gas.