Tachometer not working (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Could someone please help me troubleshoot why my tachometer is not working? It just sits at 0 all the time. Everything else on the instrument panel works.

I am new to all this, so what would be your first step in figuring this out?

This is for a 1982 FJ60?

Do the other gauges (oil pressure, temp, speedometer) in the instrument cluster function correctly?
If not, check/replace the 5A 'Gauge' fuse at the main fuse box (see attached section of USA FJ60 wiring diagram from the 1980 Chassis Body FSM).

If so, the problem likely lies in a poor signal being sent from the coil (see attached section of USA FJ60 wiring diagram from the 1980 Chassis Body FSM) or in the gauge itself.

You might start by checking to make sure that the green wire connector at the coil is fastened correctly...

Gauge Circuit Wire Diagram FJ60_1980 Chassis Body FSM.jpg

Tach and Emission Cont Circuit from chassis-body-1980 repair manual.png

Last edited:
Check the cable at the transfer case before you start pulling the dash apart. Mine was broken at the case.

Cable ? The tach uses an electrical reference from the (-) side of the ign. coil . The Tach needs 3 things to work
1) 12 vdc +
2) 12 vdc-
3) signal reference from the (-) Side of the ignition coil

Could someone please help me troubleshoot why my tachometer is not working? It just sits at 0 all the time. Everything else on the instrument panel works.

I am new to all this, so what would be your first step in figuring this out?
Did you ever get this problem solved?

Did you ever get this problem solved?