Smoking battery cables? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Watch out newbie here. I have a 1970 FJ40 with a 1/75 2F. I have learned a lot from this web site but I have to admit when it comes to wiring I am at a lose. I believe I have everything hooked up right (well till I tried to start it and the battery cables started to smoke). The motor does turn over and the starter does not get blazing hot, only the battery cables. I have spent a lot of time trying to figure this out, but know Im at witts end. Time to resort to my Landcruiser Family. Please help...:hmm:

waterboy-albums-my-1970-fj40-picture16895-a.jpg

waterboy-albums-my-1970-fj40-picture16896-a.jpg

waterboy-albums-my-1970-fj40-picture16897-a.jpg

If more info or better pics are required please let me know. :hillbilly:

Is your battery connected the right way around? (Negative to earth/chassis/body?)

Your battery cables are JUNK!

Replace them.

The negative is connected to alternator bracket (green cable in pic). This is how the previous owner had it wired. If this is incorrect please let me know. I also have no idea how long the truck has sat. Ive had it about a year, but started with the frame an working my way up. All filters and fluids have been changed.

Consider it done Poser.

I would also pull the starter motor and test it. It could be frozen or shorted causing the cables to overheat. Since you said the you do not know how long it has been sitting, I assume you have never had the starter motor turn over.

I pulled my starter and refreshed it recently. It had been sitting for over 7 years is my guess. the part that slides to engage the fears was stuffed with straw and cloth. I guess mice had climbed into the timing hole and made some nests. It actually worked before I pulled it, but very intermittently.