rear right drum self-braking? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I tried to search something like this on the forum to avoid clutter couldn't find anything.

The right rear drum brake on my LJ78 keeps slowly braking on its own, say over a period of 2-3hours of driving, until its gets almost locked.
At first I backed it off a bit, but it keeps repeating the problem.

1. I have the diagram form the drum brakes, but am unable to identify what part allows for pressure release?

2.Could this be related to the e-brake cable?
Rear Drums .jpg
E brake cable .jpg

Keep in mind I'm a noob in a 3rd world country

I had a similar issue but it didn't take that long to develop. Traced it to a leaking wheel cylinder but took the opportunity to rebuild the rear axle with new bearings and seals as well as refresh the rear brakes with new drums, wheel cylinders, etc. I'd pull the wheel and drum have a look see.

I had a similar issue but it didn't take that long to develop. Traced it to a leaking wheel cylinder but took the opportunity to rebuild the rear axle with new bearings and seals as well as refresh the rear brakes with new drums, wheel cylinders, etc. I'd pull the wheel and drum have a look see.

Hello,

x2.

The Land Cruiser brake system is redundant, masking this symptom well after the leaking cylinder has given up the ghost. Have yours inspected and replaced; it is a good chance to change drums, bearings or any other component in need of repair/replacement.

Juan

47480/47480
When did you last do the brakes? This adjustor is R and L. Should you install it backwards the adjustor might be clicking
slowly the wrong way. This is the adjustment for tensioning the drum shoe against the brake drum. Pull the drum off, check that
this is all okay. If you have a broken or worn tensioning spring, 47430D then the shoes will push against the drum as well with no