Rear diff plugs (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm in the middle of tuning up my '89 FJ62. Got just about everything done except, I can NOT, for the life of me, get the plug out of the diffs. :cry: The car is not on a lift or jacks, which I know is a disadvantage. I'm about to go get a breaker bar, but thought I would post here and ask for suggestions before I resort to brute force. Thanks in advance.

Just be sure you get the fill plug off first!

weld a nut to the diff plug. then crank it off.

Make sure you use a 6-point socket, I use that and a breaker bar, usually works

also make sure you haven't ground down the boss around the plug....I grind mine on the rocks so much I gave up on the drain plugs and just remove the bottom-most diff cover bolt.

Thanks for the suggestions. 24mm 12 pt socket, 1/2" drive is what I'm working with. I'm basically a shade tree mechanic here, so the welding thing is out for me. I couldn't get the fill plug out either. I'm going to try the breaker bar when the weather clears: it's snowing here in the Colorado mountains. Some jackstands might be in order too.

Hmmm, cheater bar no help. Just started to strip the plug.
Woody, do you have any leakage problems? :dunno: I assume from your post that you're removing the bolts from the diff cover and breaking the seal, let it drain, then bolt it back. Is this right? On previous trucks, I always put a new gasket w/sealer when I did this.

no seal is broken....only the bottom stud is removed...not JUST the nut, the entire stud. I actually replaced that stud with a bolt since I rely on that to drain...hole is smaller, but it works, and no, the seal is not broken on the gasket. You actually don't touch the cover itself...