Rear Diff Lock Actuator removal (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Guys (newbie here from the UK so go easy)

I have a 1994 4.2 VX TD (Auto)

my rear diff lock actuator does not engage -- light on dash keep flashing (front one does engage though)

It has locked in the past -- so researching the posts on here and the other LC Forums it seems most likely to be a sticking motor

I have been throught the slee oof road articles etc but no one actually describes the removal of the actuator

So I need to take off the actuator

I have removed the 4 bolts that look like they hold the actuator to the diff housing -- but it is not really budging, does move from side to side though

Anyone done this before -- is it just a case of "gentle" persuasion or more bolts etc

Do I need to fully remove the actuatorto service the internals etc

Cheers

James

Before you remove it, make sure it is not the position switch that is malfunctioning.

Can you hear it clicking? Take the position switch out and test it with an ohm meter. If it is not working try squirting some contact cleaner in there.

Mine didn't work and I sprayed contact cleaner and left it overnight. The next day it worked and fixed what I thought was a malfunctioning rear diff lock motor.

Another choice would be to convert to our Cable Locker. We made the kit for those who have a faulty accuator motor. Usually faulty because of crammed into a log once too often, or burried into 3 ft. of mud once too often.
CC_L_0013.jpg

Try checking the position sensor first.....if you have to take it apart.....make SURE you take note of how it came apart.

Also make sure the elec connections to it are hot....you can jump the motor if you use the EWD for your rig....this might tell you if the motor is good or bad before removing it.

Good luck!

many thank for the input guys