Builds Project HAZARD DUTY LX450 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

SFROMAN

SILVER Star
Threads
Hello,
I am new to the 80 section I have been on mud for a few years because I own a 69 FJ40 and a 78 FJ55.

The 40 is my pride and joy but with 3 kids it is a very tight fit. We take it to the beach on weekends and go wheeling near our house but there is just not enough room for us.

I purchased a FJ55 thinking I would restore it and wheel it. Well the 55 is a rust bucket, I hate dealing with rust and this thing is pretty far gone. The 55 will now become strictly a trail rig and will be used to practice my welding and fabbing skills.

That still left me with a need for a 4 door vehicle that I could daily drive and use as a designated camping rig.

I plan to do alot of traveling in central and south america once Uncle Sugar releases me in a few years.

I have been looking for about 2 years off and on for the right rig.

Finally about 3 weeks ago I found the right one.

ENTER
my new to me 1997 Lexus LX450 "PROJECT HAZARD DUTY"

Last edited:
The LX450 is super clean.
It has 157,000 miles and not factory locked.

I have been reading the frequently Asked questions section for the last month.

I needed to baseline the vehicle so I started with all the fluids.

First was the Tranny flush

The Trans fluid was in very good condition. could not tell the difference between the new and old stuff. still went ahead and replaced the fluid with 5 gallons/ 20 quarts.

Flushed the power steering fluid. It was a little dark but over all in good shape. replaced fluid with 1 gallon/4 quarts

The front diff was brand new but changed it any way. The rear was a little on the dark side but not bad at all.

Still have to order
toyota parts
air filter
plugs
plug wires
brakes front and rear

The only other thing I have done is changed the wipers and added mats in the interior.