power steering leak (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
'85 FJ60 - i've been leaking power steering fluid for a couple years now and i'm ready to do something about it. I've seen a couple references to a PS leak (being common) but i haven't seen any comments on what is the base cause and how does one fix it.

What in general is be cause of a PS leak--is there a common ailment here?

check the PS pump: o-rings, cracked/pinhole leaks in hoses, loose fittings. PS Gear Box may be leaking as well. Seals go south after a while.

replaced our leaky PS pump only to discover a bad return hose, and a leaky PS Gear Box. All is repaired save the gear box (big $$$) but we're getting there....

hope it helps,
-dogboy- '87 FJ60

Recently repaired a leak on my 220,000-mile FJ62. In my case, the hard lines had corroded and the pressure line was beginning to leak. I had a custom hydraulic line made locally at an auto parts store with compression fittings to mate to the factory ends ( I hack sawed these off the old lines.) Cost about $60 and worked great.

I'd degrease everything and watch it for a few days to try and locate the location of the leak and go from there.

if its the pump thats leaking then the best bet is a new OEM pump(spendy however)

can also get OEM rebuild kits for the pump

and on a fj60 a leaky pump will at some point ruin the air pump underneath it.

But and I normally hate the stop leak crap and it doesn't work, but on my fj80 PS pump(which has been leaking for 150+K) I used Golden Eagle stop leak, and I'll be damned if it didn't almost completely stop the leak, I have a few other local fj80 leaky pump owners use it will similar good(and in two case it stoped 100% of the leak) results.......it's the only stop leak stuff that has every worked for me.

if it's a hose or box leak, then it's not gonna help

you can find aftermarker hose cheap.

John