Pop Top Camper Troopy (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Let's start with a short introduction.
I have always liked older cars and expedition type vehicles. I have had a dream of driving down to Patagonia since I was 16. Last summer I picked this FJ45 Troopy in the Seattle (so I'm new to Land Cruisers) area with my 12 yr old son, and we then drove it back to Montana where we live. On the way, we camped in it of course.

It is a RHD 1982 FJ45 Troopy from Australia with a roof camper conversion by Land Cruisers Australia PTY LTD. It can sleep 4, but it is very cozy. I have limited information other than that. I though I had found the company, but the emails bounce back. The Troopy still has the 2F engine with Power steering. Unfortunately the AC was removed before I got it. It has dual fuel tanks, propane tank storage and a water tank.

Since I got it I have done only a few things to it (needed to drive it as much as possible). We started with a good scrubbing (Pray hose, and soap bucket inside, and then out), changing the oil several time till it looked clean. I also installed rebuild Aisin locking hubs, as the right hand side hub was broken. And a couple of other things.

Last weekend we decided to get it inside the garage, a bit of a problem, as the garage door is a 7 ft door and the troopy is 7'-6" high.
So we removed the roof rack and deflated the hard to get 33x9.5x15 tires, and we JUST got it inside.