1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

On Board Air Compressor

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by DRTDuck, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. DRTDuck

    DRTDuck

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Is anyone running a CCI/York air compressor, or other type belt driven compressor? I know this will crank more air than an ARB, but not sure if there is enough room to mount one succesfuly and without to many headaches.
     
  2. Wrench

    Wrench One Bashed Up 80

    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    I thought of doing this but I don't want to lose my AC. I figured I could run a second AC compressor but you need a belt to turn it. Not sure if there is any room to do this.
    Also it is not a good idea to use the ARB compressor to do other things other than the lockers. You will destroy it for sure.
     
  3. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,185
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    DRT - if you're on the 80's intl list, you can search for some posts from Scott Simmons, or if you're on the LCML list search for Lance Williams. They both have the same setup which is engine driven air from a s/c pulley. &nbsp:Don't know much about it as it's over my head, but it puts out a ton of air as I've witnessed. I'll be at Lance's over the weekend and will try to get some pics.
     
  4. CruisinGA

    CruisinGA

    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia Tech
    Researched it extensively for my 40, and as soon as oil pressure and brakes are resolved it's next. The hardest part is getting one mounted. After that its all cake. The best Yorks to use come out of 80-83 volvo station wagons and sedans, 10cfm, upwards of 300 psi (comparable to most portable shop compressors). I can't help you with mounting it :dunno:, but if you figure that out, I can help with the rest.
     
  5. Wrench

    Wrench One Bashed Up 80

    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Have you thought about using CO2 as an air source? It is a good alternative.
     
  6. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,185
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Wrench,
    CO2 is awesome for most of the time, but the limited quanity sometimes [​IMG].

    I have 2 10lb CO2 tanks onboard with my 80 and a 50lb mounted in the new event trailer :flipoff2: :flipoff2: . Still, if doing long trips like photoman or expeditions, this would be the route to go - with both being preferred. You could always use a tank with the ARB (which has it's own mini tank built in) in an emergency, but some guys like photoman don't always have the option of calling timeout and strolling on down to the [​IMG]. If I didn't have the blower on, I'd have both engine driven air and the C02. As it is, I'm about to mount yet another compressor and 3rd battery in my rig. :flipoff2:
     
  7. BMT

    BMT

    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    I've got one of those alum. oxygen tanks that I am going to mount under the rig somewhere. I was going to run a compressor but I could load it with CO2 or I have heard people running nitrogen? The tank is good for 3200 PSI. I wonder how many fill ups on CO2 that is? Anyone know? ???
     
  8. DRTDuck

    DRTDuck

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Yeah-

    My first thought was to install an ARB with a tank, but then thought if I'm going to do it why not put in a large enough compressor, I wouldn't need a tank.

    There is amble room in on the left side of the engine compartment, below and in front of the air filter box. My biggest apprehension is the pully, an earlier post suggest a s/c pully may work? I certianly want to keep my ac.
     
  9. PHAEDRUS

    PHAEDRUS

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    bmt and drt.
    as to the co2 question the 3200 cf rating in the nitrogen or oxygen bottle means jack with co2. co2 is actually loaded into the cylinder as a liquid and then expands to gas as more room for expansion becomes available. personally I have a 10 pound co2 tank mainly for airing up but I also mount it in the back of my truck in a modified fire extinguisher bracket. I would advise against mounting an aluminum co2 tank under your truck due to heat issues affecting the pressure of the liquid in the tank.
    just my thoughts but for the record I used to work at a welding supply shop and pumped co2 when needed fun stuff for airing up and all but not the solution to running tools and such. check out george scolaros site in the tech section for his location of a compressor next to the trans case best solution in my opinion.
    Dave :beer:
     
  10. CruisinGA

    CruisinGA

    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia Tech
    First off, PS and AC are for the weak. :D
    Second-If you plan on running air tools of any kind, a tank is a must even for a 10cfm york. If all you are doing is airing up then its not necessary by any means.
     
  11. DRTDuck

    DRTDuck

    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    CruisinGA-

    Well, you may have just answered my deliema. I was under the impression you would be able to run tools directly from a York, as most tools say they require 4CFM. If that is not the case, then I wouldn't hassle with a York, just put in a 12v and a tank or two.