New 80 series from Wyoming (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys!

I am a complete Cruiser newb, Jeep convert. I have had a couple Jeeps, but we found ourselves needing something more practical. That is where my first Toyota comes in, a 2007 DCSB Tacoma. I bought the Taco with the hopes of building an all around daily driver and weekend warrior.

DSC_1124.jpg by Justin Freeman, on Flickr

As much as I love the Tacoma, I have been looking for something a little older I can build as more of a "toy." I mainly was looking for a CJ7, but BoxRocket's 80 series build kept catching my eye. Last week a pretty nice looking 91' fj80 popped up on Craiglist 10 minuts away for $800, so I talked my wife into going to take a look. It turns out the 80 was owned by one of her fellow teachers family, her husband's parents have owned it since new, until giving it to their granddaughter to drive. I was told the rear main blew out a mile from the house, apparently as strong as the 3fe is it doesn't last long with no oil. :doh:
Long story short, I am the the proud new owner of my first Cruiser. I havent got it home yet, he is going to help me haul it home this next weekend after some snow melts. I only have one pic of it for now(crappy cell pic), but more to follow. I will probably try and find another 3fe to swap in till I decide what direction I want to go with the build.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg by Justin Freeman, on Flickr

And just because I miss it, a Jeep pic.

DSC_0753.jpg by Justin Freeman, on Flickr

Nice!!! Congratulations

Welcome to the money pit, I mean Cruiser life.

Put some oil in it and it will probably still run. It's a Landcruiser!!!

Does the motor turn over? If so, why not fill it with oil and see what it does. As long as you are going to replace the motor, may as well give it a try.