limited slip differential oil change (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello,

I just bought 2004 LC 100. It has 60k on it. Does the car have limited slip differential? If so... I am not 100% sure whether oil was ever changed.

Should I change it as soon as possible or is it similar to transmission fluid change situation where if you did not change it on time (30K ?) - leave it alone.

This is probably a silly question but I am new to the 4x4 world and will need all the help I can get.

Thanks!
Alex

I do not think 60k is too late to start on proper transmission services. In my opinion, it would be a great time to start. I am not a believer in lifetime fluid fills, for what that's worth. I've been doing mine every 30k. So far so good with 150k miles. Were you at 150k with no fluid changes, I might think otherwise, but would probably still hedge towards changing the fluid and hoping for the best.

Are you able to lock the rear differential via controller on the dash panel? If so, this is a locking diff and not limited slip. My 1999 is a locking version. Sorry, but I don't know the 2004 model year features.

Doug

2004 has the new transmission fluid so don't mix with the old kind. It is a 100K mile fluid unless you are towing then do it at 60K with the right fluid. I did my diff's and transfer case at 40K miles even though I don't tow.

From my research, only the 98-99 LX470s came with a LSD. 98-99 had the rear locker option on LAND CRUISERS only, and 00-07 Lexus/Toyota had open diffs. And as far as your transmission, it doesnt have a dipstick!

The transmission fluid thing is a wives tale with no basis in reality. What is true is that if you change fluid after the tranny starts to make noise it is likely to fail. It would be likely to fail anyway and the fluid change had nothing to do with it. But someone will blame the fluid change.

Change the fluid!