Leaking Front End

Discussion in '60-Series Wagons' started by MYFJ62, Nov 13, 2007.

1. MYFJ62

MYFJ62

Sort of hoped my first post wasn't going to be a long these lines but here it goes... just picked up my first Cruiser on the weekend and drove it up to Parry Sound to the cottage - when I got out this morning I noticed a coffee looking liquid on the driveway. It is coming from the front end (near the brakes) out of ball joint looking thing (sorry I am no mechanic). Couldn't get a good picture it was too dark when I got home. Any suggestions on what it might be?
    Thanks in advance.
  2. Front Range 4x4

Front Range 4x4

Welcome to Mud and congrats on the 62!

Don't be alarmed, sounds like you need to rebuild the knuckles. The seals are probably gone which is common of trucks of this vintage. It's expensive to pay someone to do it for you but merely time consuming and messy to do it yourself.

Be sure to check your brake fluid, make sure you're not losing that which could show up in the same place. The results could be disastrous if it's brake fluid!

Lots of info on this here!

Pics would be good, while you're at it post pics of the 62 as well, we like pics!
  3. RockDoc

RockDoc my bad habit SILVER Star

x2 on inner axle seals. The grease from the knuckles and the gear oil from the diff/axle are mingling and the resulting "groil" is leaking out around the knuckle seal. Get yourself a Factory Service Manual (best ~$70 you'll spend on the truck), a set of seals (track down the new Marlin Crawler inner seals), gaskets etc., a few dedicated tools (spindle nut socket, seal puller and driver......) and set asside a weekend. Get lots of paper towel and for goodness sake put some carboard down on the garage floor!!!

I did this job back in June, asside from being a complete mess, it wasn't bad. You'll have a chance to check your wheel and trunion bearings at the same time.