Johnnay's 97 LC- minor restobuild thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

Starting this thread to document the restobuild of my new to me 97 LC. While I'm not new to restoring/modifying vehicles (BMW 2002, Datsun Roadster, Mercedes 500SL AMG 6.0, MA70 Supra and a long list of other vehicles owned), I am pretty new to the whole 4x4 thing, save for a stint with an FJ40 that I loved and abused when I was in University, so I'll definitely be looking for some help along the way. Anyways, on to the LC...

These vehicles are fairly rare up here in my neck of the woods (Victoria, BC Canada), so it took me a while to find one that I wanted to buy. I looked at a couple of older LCs going for $7500-$15000CDN but being a transplanted Easterner I wanted nothing to do with rust of any kind so I passed.

I then stumbled upon a listing for a 97 on Craigslist up in Parksville with no picture, and minimal descriptive text, asking $5500. I emailed and received some pics of what looked to be a rust-free vehicle with the standard worn leather interior and a decent-sized ding in the rear corner of the bumper. The owner said "no rust, front seats are worn, tires are 50%" and that he'd owned it for 10-12 years, putting $500-1500/year in maintenance into it. Sounded pretty good, so off I went on a 2hr drive to check it out.