How much disassembly required for smog pump elimination? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Removing the smog pump will obviously require getting some things out of the way. I'm pretty new to working on my car, I've done the suspension, some exhaust welding, oil changes, etc and have had Gary Kardum do everything else, and I want to minimize the number of components I will remove but still remove enough to have reasonably easy access to the pump I'm working on.

I have read basically every thread about FJ60 smog/air pump elimination but I haven't found too much about how much disassembly will be required. The only real mention of this issue I've encountered suggested removing the fan and fan shroud.

For people who have done this and who appreciate my situation can you let me know what I should expect to be removing and any things to look out for in the process (don't let this touch the ground, keep track of that, etc.)

As a thank you I will document the process photographically and post it if it is actually successful.

Thanks very much!

I should have noted that I will be replacing the pump with an eliminator pulley I got from Gary.

I had to take off the carb, intake and exhaust manifolds to get everything out. You'll need to figure out a solution for your PCV fitting and you'll need a block off plate for the J-pipe connection. Look at my Turdle thread to see how I did mine. Search "Rushing Turdle"

If you're just removing the smog pump, the manifold & carb don't need to be touched.
The devilish obstacle preventing the smog pump from popping right out in 10 minutes is the devious design of the pump bolt.

In order to pull the pivot bolt out all the way to pull the pump, the fan shroud [might need] to be moved because it [can be] in the way. On my cruiser, the bolt can't come out without moving the fan shroud.

[edit]

image.png

Last edited: