Help with wiring Hella 500 Lights (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone,

Sort of a newbie here, so bear with me.

I got these Hella 500 fog lamps to mount on the front of my 60. I'm no electrician but thought I would be able to handle a relatively simple install such as this one. I've followed the directions, watched youtube videos and tried searching around forums with little luck. What am I doing wrong? I have power, all the lines seem correct and I think everything is grounded properly. Some people said the blue wire from the lights is the hot wire, I've tried both without success. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

image1.JPG

image2.JPG

image3.JPG

image4.JPG

From the lights, it doesn't matter which is ground and which is hot. This only true for halogen or tungsten lights, not for LED lights.

It's not possible to tell what's plugged in where on the relay by the way you took that picture.

It's hard to tell which blue is going to the switch and what the switch does when you switch it. I'm guessing it switches the center connection between the top and bottom connections? You probably only need two connections on that switch and not three.

I assume you have a multimeter and know how to use it? At least a trouble light?

Once you've got it figured out, you should use proper crimp connectors at each joint. Solder connections and shrink-wrap tubing are even better.

Start with light to ground and battery. Then figure out what it takes to get the relay to 'click' with respect to ground and battery. Then add the switch between the hot and the relay so you can 'click' the relay with the switch. Finally, move the hot to the hot output of the relay.

Do you have any pictures of your grounds? Is there an inline fuse between the positive battery connection and the relay?