H42 Transmission, Tcase, eBrake Rebuild in a '76 FJ40` (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Vae Victus

Posting more than I know
Threads
I will be documenting my H42 tranny rebuild here for the good of the masses since I cannot seem to find a complete one anywhere.

Telling an H41 and H42 apart: https://forum.ih8mud.com/40-55-series-tech/652966-can-you-tell-h42-h41-visually.html

I will do my best to get this right, and with the help of the Mud community, I'm sure we will get close.

Caveat emptor: I am not a mechanic. I did however sleep in a Holiday Inn Express last night (yea, that's about as qualified as I am to do this).

I am using the FSM for a 1975 FJ40, and one from the 1980 FJ40 (Chassis and Body) from TrollHole's thread, (Tip: the '80 manual is more descriptive and asker to understand than the '75 manual where it relates to the 4 speed transmission - get both) as well as the notoriously ill informed Haynes manual. I will also be using sheer will and determination to get this done.

TrollHole's FSM Free Download thread: https://forum.ih8mud.com/sale-parts/610994-40-50-60-80-series-fsm-hell-price.html

I purchased my rebuild kit from TPI4x4.com. It came with a full set of blue paper gaskets, Koyo bearings, seals, needle bearings, crush washers. I'll detail the kit here in the near future.

I like to bag and tag all pars in zip lock bags, with the part name written in sharpie on the bag.

Step 1: Removal of the Transmission
This is widely covered in other places, therefore I'm not going deep here. Basically, you must remove the drive shafts, and remove the seat and tranny hump from inside, and several other parts to get the transmission and transfer case out. Can be done as a single unit or together. See my thread (in sig line) if you need details on this. It points to my sources of how I figured this out.

Step 2: Separation of Tranny and Tcase