Grinding noise from front end when 4 wheel drive is engaged fj40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am new to this thread, so first let me say thanks for all of the great advice I found on this website. I have an Fj40 that has been sitting for 5 years due to an overheating problem after a 350 installation. I took care of that issue thanks to these forums.
Here is my new problem. I can drive in 2 wheel drive with no problems. Yesterday, I wanted to test out the 4 wheel drive since it has been awhile. After locking the hubs and shifting to 4 wheel drive, I started driving. When I hit about 20 miles per hour and either let off the gas or shifted, I would get this grinding noise from somewhere in the front end. If I step on the gas, the noise goes away.
Today, changed the front differential gear oil to make sure it was full and to make sure there were no metal shavings. Everything looked good, but the noise is still there. I unlocked the hubs, kept it in 4 wheel drive, and I still got the noise. It is a pretty loud grinding noise. Any ideas?

A warn out output shaft bearing, maybe. Reach up there and grab the front driveshaft near the transfer output. Is it sloppy? repeat at the other end of the D.S.. Report back.

Hi All:

From your description I would guess something is up with the pinion in the front differential. Like the pinion gear is not set to spec, and it is obvious when not under load (coasting.)

Regards,

Alan

Also, what happens when hubs are locked but in 2WD (front diff will turn but not under load)? Seems like something in the drive train before the front diff.

Mine does this too... I'm pretty sure that it is either bad caster angle, or slop on the splines on my front driveshaft, as it did not do this before my lift... Hope it's something simple for ya!

Hi All:

Ha, ha! X 2 !! :p