Front Caliper Upgrades? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am running large pattern pick up knuckles on my front FJ40 axle. I have a 1" master, dual diaphragm booster, the larger 4Runner calipers and late FJ40 vented rotors, but my front brakes don't stop worth a darn.

Does anyone know of a conversion to larger piston calipers? Maybe Monte Carlo calipers? I know there is a conversion for small pattern FJ40 drum front axles, but how about disk axles? Anyone know of something? My searches have drawn a blank.

Thanks

A 1" master is probably too big. Do you still have drums in the rear? I basically have an early Tundra brake system in my 40 which has has a little bigger calipers than the 4runners and late model drums in the rear, the master on my tundra and my 40 is a 7/8" unit. My pedal was always soft in the 40 but that wass because I was using the original manual brake mounting point (6:1 ratio). I have just moved the master down an inch (4:1 ratio) which should make them feel much better.

read this: http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/Brakes/

I ran into this problem on my old 4runner. SAS'ed fj40 venter rotors in front with bigger 4runner calipers. Disc brake conversion in rear with monte carlo calipers. Dual diafram brake booster and a 1" bore master cylinder. After bleeding the brakes I had a very soft pedal and almost went to the floor before stopping. I upgraded to the 3/4 ton GM master cylinder and fixed my brake problem. The monte carlo calipers use more fluid in the rear the the front 4 piston toyota calipers. The GM master cylinder moves more fluid and stops the soft pedal.

I am actually using a GM 1" Corvette master and aftermarket 9" dual booster.