Fj Cruiser headaches.... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Need solid advice from this forum; I've owned 4LC....loved two of them very much. Bought into the FJ Cruiser brigade, sold my LC's and now own an '07 FJ.

I'm no expert but can profess I knew my LC's inside and out....issues, maintenance items etc. Loved how stoutly built they were.

FJ...love the upgrade in power. Suicide doors and space kinda suck. What's more concerning is how Toyota built these early FJ's. I had a transmission issue which I resolved by flushing the fluid etc....but now the most concerning issue of all is my rear diff has given up the ghost!! Three teeth sheared off. 8.0 weak ass diff for ya.

Contemplating fixing and selling the FJ and heading back to the 80 with something in the 200K 230K mileage range. I owe about 15K on the damn FJ.

Thoughts? Pros/cons?

Thanks!

15k would buy a pretty darn nice example of an 80 right now, more than likely it would cost even less. Examples under 200k miles can be found, although none of us are getting any younger or shorter of miles.

I checked out the FJCs and just too dark in there. LandCruisers always seemed to have plenty of windows as a hallmark, I'm not quite sure what they were thinking. And it take a bundle of money to get them to trailworthy status on par with a stock 80 -- and in several respects that may not even be possible, unless one considers a SAS transplant within the realm of possibility.

IIRC the FJC at least had a 5-speed option? That's one advantage I can think of vs US-spec 80s, but about the only one.

They're a lot more waterproof than an 80 ;)

FJ Cruisers hold their value better than almost anything else on the road, so you have that going for you - although with $15K still owed I'd guess you're at break even if you can sell it private sale. Throw a locking rear diff in, sell it on....