exploding spark plugs (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
They shoot land cruisers don't they? Maybe I should shoot mine. I need some help so I am going to have to give you some backround. I needed new points so I figured "good time to get a new distributor" I install the new distributor and a new volt regulator because I fried the old one while installing a painless harness :D I know I'm a pro mechanic LOL. Anyway, I was trying to get the vehicle started with the new distributor and it was giving me a hard time then eventually the vehicle backfired REALLY loud. I then started to go over everything and when I pulled the number 1 spark plug I found that it had apparently exploded in the cylinder. The prong was still attached but badly bent up and the entire center of the plug was gone, somewhere in my engine. What do I do? What caused this? Could it have been the backfire that blew the plug out because I had flooded the engine in the process of trying to get it started? I really want to drive my cruiser but I'm afraid if I put in new plugs and atempt to start it I may screw things up worse at this point.

Thats real bad luck.What I would try 1st is get your mums vacuum cleaner and make a new nozzle out of some metal fuel line thats thin enough to fit down the spark plug hole and try and suck any leftovers out. Probably best done with the piston at the top of its stroke.If there is any metal bits in there you maybe able to use a mechanics magnet.If its just 1 or 2 pieces and you get them both it should be ok.The only really safe way to do it,and I think you know this, is to take the head off. I would ask an old mechanic for advice 1st.Theyve usually seen everything

One more thing are you sure it went inside and wasnt blown out of the engine. If this happened the spark plug lead would have been off as well.