Electrical questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just took apart a rear heater, and found out that the only thing that makes a motor a two-speed motor is a resistor(DUH!). So... the ceramic ballast resistor could be used to make my heater(front) motor blow on two speeds, right? Wire low speed through the resistor and high bypasses the resistor, eh? &nbsp:Do I need to use the bulky ceramic type ballast resistor, like used on the points or is ther another smaller more compact resistor like Toyo uses on the heater motor? I guess that's an obvious question with an obvious answer, but what do I ask for like at an electronics shop?
Any Sparky's out there? Thanks, I'm a newbie to this board. Still use CCOT, that's where I learned a lot. Pin Head???

Resistors are rated in power. This rating specifies how much power can be dissipated by the resistor in the form of heat. Therefore what you need to do is ballpark how much power this resistor needs to dissipate.

To do this I would first measure the current (I) that the motor sinks when its on. Hopefully you have a Multi-meter that will allow you to do this. This value will be higher than the resistor will ever see but its good to be conservative.

Next you'll need to guess how much voltage you need to drop in order to get the heater fan to the speed you want. I really don't know this but I'd guess that you might want to drop it from 12V to 9V, thats a 3V drop across the resistor. Use V = IR or rewritten as R = V/I. If you measured 2Amps through the motor you'll need a 3/2 = 1.5ohm resistor.

Power is: P = V * I and units are W(Watts). Then you would need a 3*2 = 6 W or higher power rated resitor. I would almost double this and just get a 12 W resistor in order to make sure that it doesn't get too hot. Go to an electronics shop and get a 1.5ohm 10 or 12W power resistor!