DRL Install Howto: The $10/10Minute Method (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Took some pictures of my Daytime Running Light setup on my '91 Hilux Surf so thought I would share the process. Key benefits are this setup should cost you around $10 and should only take 10-30min to install yourself and it uses the otherwise relatively useless side marker/city lamps not your headlamps. Depending on your factory wiring, this may also make your dashboard lightig to be on at all times as well since dash and marker lights are often linked. (Process should be a fairly similar process on any other vehicle that has the clear side marker lights like the LJ7* but obviously not exact.) I'm not an electrician so use at your own risk. Typos may be present, and relay pole numbers are from memory so double check yourself.

Materials:
1 - 30amp Relay ($5)
1 - 12gauge inline fuse holder ($4)
1 - 15amp Fuse
1 - Length of 12gauge wire
1 - Length of 14-16gauge wire
1 - Various crimp connectors (female spade, ring terminals, butt, scotch lock)
1 - Quality crimping/stripping tool ($15-20) (OK, if you didn't have already this blows the $10 budget but a quality tool is worth is weight in gold...don't cheap out here)

Installation: