Cylinder misfire help (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I need some expert advice on a major engine problem with my 06 LC. I’m not a mechanic and hope I explained everything correctly. My 06 LC has 187K miles, owned it since 20K, well maintained and never missed a service and no mechanical issues till last month when we had the secondary air injection pump and valves replaced at dealer. Two weeks later the check engine light starts flashing with VSC. The LC would shutter during acceleration. I stopped at AutoZone and they read the code – misfire cylinder #8. Guy at store said it would most likely be the coil pack or plug. When I went to install the coil pack, I found the spark plug was damaged and the electrode was smashed down. I then purchased a new DENSO plug and installed the new plug and coil pack. Car started fine and idle was real smooth. I drove it about 3 miles, it ran great, and then entire dash lit up, I heard clunking and the LC cut off and would not restart. Had it towed back to the dealer.

The dealer did some troubleshooting/testing and said that cylinder 8 had low compression and would have to take the head off to investigate. At this point, I suspected that something had possibly dropped down into the combustion chamber when they replaced the secondary air pump causing the mechanical damage to the plug. I shared my suspicions with the service manager and he said if they caused it they would cover the repairs and if they didn’t it was on me. The dealer proceeded and took the head off and said that there is damage to #1 and #8 valves and no scoring in cylinder #8. They are saying they could not find any damage from anything dropping into intake so it’s on me. They are now saying it was caused by a bad timing belt install.