Bolt on turbo upgrade now available - 12HT/1HDT and 1HD-FT (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I have been researching turbos for many years now, mucking around with different designs for friends, relatives diesel race trucks, my own stuff and some private clients.

The 12HT is a great motor but it just doesnt deliver in the sub 2000rpm zone (unless you bore and stroke it to 5 litres, then it does - done that too ;) ).

Who would like 15-20psi by 1700rpm and being able to hold that to redline?

Who would like to simply bolt it on, no adaptors etc and looks the same on the outside (it IS different on the inside).

Who would like ~ 100°C lower EGT's (pre turbo) at crusie 100km/h.

What about less smoke at all times compared to before?

And FAR FAR FAR quicker boost response - no comparison at all.

360 degree thrust bearing for longer high boost life.

No dyno done yet, but hope to get that too in a week or so.

The test vehicle (1988 HJ61 manual JDM) has a 3" exhaust and no intercooler. Totally untouched 250,000km engine otherwise. We have been running 15psi for ages and adjusted the fuel up to max etc. It went VERY well before. This has transformed it.

PM me for information, my first install was done on the weekend and although the calcs said it would work well, I wasnt going to get too excited until I get the final result. Well, it did exactly as expected.

I should add that an intercooler would bring on full boost by 1500-1600rpm. It is really suprising how quick and grunty this 12HT is. I estimate around 350ftlbs at 17/1800rpm. Will post a dyno soon.

Also, the 12HT in question is running used cooking oil.... so diesel will bring the boost up a bit earlier but havent tested yet.

Also posted a dyno on my 1HD-FTE converted LX470 in another thread. Some boost mods only - 132kw @ 4 wheels. Not bad starting point for future mods.