Best HVLP spray gun for the money? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys I am looking to paint my cruiser. I am going to buy an hvlp gun and am looking for the best gun for my money. This will be my first paint job so the easier to use the better. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks. Mark:beer:

FineX FX1000 or 3000.

I've been using the previous generation FX100 for four years, and recently upgraded. I own an Aerospace Engineering company, and one of the things we do is manufacture high-end display models and mock-ups, up to about 6 feet in span. No orange peel (although this is mostly on the user, point being, it's easy on this gun) easy to use, easy to control paint flow and air flow, and good pattern control. I just paid 120 for a new FX1000, and it is a great gun. I haven't used the 3000 yet, but I have used the 300, which is the previous generation. I actually just shot primer and color with the 1000 today.

IMOP, I like to go slowly when I paint, so the flow rate on the 1000 is just fine. The 3000 is a bigger gun and has a bigger paint capacity. It is probably great for guys that are really good, but I've had problem keeping orange peel under control on that because because it's just so big. That, and since the 1000 is smaller, it's easier to control and more comfortable for painting for long times.

Sorry for the dissertation, hope it helps.

Whats the price on the Sata? Where do you get these guns. I was looking at the professional series from dare I say... Harbor freight. It was 39.99. Please don't think less of me about harbor freight it just that I have gone to the dark side and once there its almost impossible to go back!! hehehe:beer: Mark