Best FJ80??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys, I'm new to the Land Crusier thing. But not to Toyota, I have a 96' 4Runner, lifted, 33s and factoy rear locker. But I have been looking into the 80s as an option for a replacement.

What I want to know from yall is, in your opinions what is the best year for th 80, I'm trying to stay away from the expensive 99- and on up. Also what years were the daul factory lockers offered, that would be my prime choice, since I'm spoiled on having at least the rear locked.

Thanks in advance for ANY input.

18Sep2003 (UTC -7)

Check out the webpage of Sle Off-Road. It shows you the small differences between the years. Personally, there is no "best year". They're all consistently good, as Toyota (i.e. Araco) quality is known for. It'll all boil down to what year and what mileage for what price you wanna pay for.

BTW, I see prices posted in www.cars.com seem good.

Factory Lockers to my knowlegde were available after 93, when they also upgraded the engine to a 4.5 liter. I just bought a 93, my choice would have been 95 and above because of the airbags, but that will come later. For an extensive description go to:

http://www.sleeoffroad.com/newbie/newbie100.htm

and I've been to someone elses site that posts here once with an EXTENSIVE list of Everything that comes on the 80.

Mine is the best...

94's had all the good stuff.

Nice try Bud ! All the good stuff ... sheesh !

*hands on hips..* Myyy '97 80 came with the coveted and little know Mauve curtains with decorative fushia kanji 0 OEM 0300497-0001 . Only available in April '97 production models ... I could go onnn and onnn about the many virtues of said option , but the main thing here is that you got stuck with a model with the s***y tranny and NO curtains ... sucks to be you ! :flipoff2:

][][ Tyler ][][