Alternator upgrade (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
hey everyone. I'm a Beginner when it comes to electrical equipment in my fj60. Anyway I'm looking to upgrade my alternator in my 85 fj60 for a possible dual battery set up. The dual battery will only be used for lights and winch. So my question is, would I really need a new alternator for dual battery setup? And if I do what alternator would work well?

you don't "need" an upgraded alternator for a dual battery setup. but if you want to upgrade, the 80 amp fj62 alternator is a good route. there are some posts on this, it's pretty simple.

There are many rigs with systems running lights and winch with one battery and two batteries using stock and aftermarket alternator options and every combination therof. Two batteries is a redundancy solution for peace of mind and more options (fridge?) if nothing else. Personally, I am moving forward with 2 batteries and a mean green alternator.

The stock 55 amp FJ60 alternator (when operating to spec) is perfectly matched to a big winch. It's not alternator output that's the bottleneck, it's heat dissipation of the winch. By the time the winch cools enough to run another short pull, the stock alternator will already be tapering its output.

Winches run on batteries. Lights run on alternators. The stock (properly working) 55A alternator has plenty of power to drive the car all night long with 80/100 headlamps, fan on, and dual 130 watt off-road lights.
At idle though, its output is decreased.

The higher output alternators will/should last longer as they are not being run near their limit, and they usually have higher output at idle, which is noticeable when driving at night in stop & go traffic. Lights dim a bit at stops with the stock alt.