79 FJ40 Rear Axle Leaking (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My FJ40 was found with a rear axle seal leaking. Last night I went ahead and removed the side that was said to be leaking but found no evidence of damage to the seal. I'm an aviation mechanic in the Navy and we commonly will measure the diameter of components to ensure that there still serviceable. Does anybody know what the measurement should be of the axle shaft or does these seals leak regularly?

Also I've been experience a suttle vibration at highway speeds on and off. No particular MHP but a noticeable vibration that rattles everything. lol. Thanks.

Taylor

It's pretty unlikely that the shaft is worn. I'd just replace the seal and reassemble it and see what happens. Maybe use some sealant around the outside of the seal when you install it.

The vibration is most likely the drive shaft being out of phase. You can align the grease zirks or use the search or google for more info.

Check your axle breather... If clogged, it could create overpressure in the axle housing that would push gear oil through the seal. Do you tend to park on a side slope to that side of the truck?

I did end up buying a caliber to measure both and found that the diameter of the axle is just slightly larger than the seal that's in there now. When I emptied the gear oil out of the axle it was pretty much full, it was coming out of the rear filler bolt. When I removed the axle there was evidence of gear oil being in there but not much. It could be possible that the breather is clogged which caused it initially. I'm going to go ahead and replace the seal, not sure yet if I need to replace or should replace the bearing as well. I never did have the drive shaft balanced and did assume that could be causing it. just wasn't sure. I'll check it out and post back.