• 4.8 vortec

Votes: 2 16.7%
  • 5.3 vortec

Votes: 9 75.0%
  • The biggest motor we can find

Votes: 1 8.3%

• Total voters

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys.
I'm new to the 40 section and swaps in general. My brother in law might be getting a 40 soon and asked me which motor he should go with. It will be a mixed use vehicle in Montana with about 40% off-road/trails and 60% daily driving.

The main aim is a reliable vehicle with fuel injection that can drive in the mountains without downshifting all the time.
Will the smaller motor give better fuel consumption if coupled to the cruiser 4spd and maybe 31"s or 33"s with a small lift?(all things being equal)
Or should we just go with the age old tradition of bigger is better?

Thanks for your votes and opinions,and don't feel bad to tell me i'm being stupid,i need that sometimes.
AJ

I once bought a boat for water skiing, dealer had a boat with 4.3 V6 and 5.7 V8. Dealer told me the V6 would out-pull the V8 because of it's lighter engine weight, I guess we know which boat he wanted to get rid of. I didn't do my homework, bought the V6, it would barely get double skiers out of the water. Soooo, my guess is the 5.3 will get almost as good of milage as the 4.8, and has better torque.

5.3 actually gets better mileage than the 4.8.

I'm sure that depends on the application and the driver. For a '40 it could well be true. OTOH, they pretty much give away 4.8s and you may get a better deal on the tranny if you take one off their hands.

I am a fan of the old adage, "There's no replacement for displacement." Pony up for a 6.0. :)

Either way, it's more power than the F/2F you're likely pulling out.

I bought a 5.3 to stick in my daughter's FJ40 project. Prices around here are pretty much the same for either. I figured the longer stroke would make it harder to stall taking off (I'm keeping the toy 4 speed too).